My thoughts on Memorial Day from my history blog

This is a blog I wrote last year for Memorial Day on my history site Somewhere in Texas at http://smokietx.blogspot.com. It includes my thoughts on Memorial Day as well as a short documentary on the origins of TAPS and a link to some more history concerning TAPS.

Memorial Day

I can’t put into words the thoughts that go through my head thinking about those that paid the ultimate sacrifice for their fellow men and women. I am honored to live in a country where so many have served and continue to serve in the military. This has always left me a little bit in awe of all of them. Saying that there are no words and it’s not even possible to thank those that never returned for far flung lands.

From the American Revolution to the War of 1812 to the Mexican-American War to the Civil War to the Spanish-American War to World War I to World War II to the Korean War to the War in Vietnam to the Gulf War to the War on Terror, Americans have always paid the price for our way of life and to defend our rights and those of oppressed people or people striving to be free across the world. That is the most honorable action anyone can ever undertake.

On Memorial Day I also would like to say thanks to the families left behind for the huge sacrifice they have paid as parents, brothers, sisters, wives, husbands, sons and daughters. The loss of a loved one is something that never heals and I pray that seeing strangers honor their loss brings them some peace. They will never be forgotten and we will continue to honor them by living the life which they died protecting.

[youtube https://youtu.be/Nhtr5J00ntA&w=560&h=315]

At this link you will find some more information on TAPS as well as some lyrics written throughout the years.

 

One thought on “My thoughts on Memorial Day from my history blog

Leave a Reply

